Hurricane


You come
through like a
hurricane
and leave me
just as quickly:
Pure energy
that lifts me from
my ground
and drops me
somewhere new
each time

in your wake
the familiar
seems strange

Stunned
I look around
to get my bearings
and wonder
if this
is the
eye
of your
storm

if you’ll be back
to blow me even harder
make me forget my name
take my breath away
once more
suck it from me
all at once
until I’m still and
calm at last
in my long-delayed
surrender
to everything you
are

Leave a Reply

